Introduction to the Department


The Department of Biochemistry  was founded in 1954 and is now one of the basic science Departments at Shiraz University of Medical Sciences in the Medical School. The department has teaching responsibilities in the schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Health Sciences. This Department also offers programs leading to M.Sc. and Ph.D degrees in clinical Biochemistry and was the first department in Iran to start offering an MSc programme in Biochemistry in 1973. The Department of Biochemistry currently consists of 6 faculty members, 9 M.Sc students, 10 Ph.D students and 6 support personnel. The facultiys offers courses in fundamental and current topics in biochemistry and molecular biology as well as provide opportunities for research in the general areas of biochemistry, molecular biology, clinical chemistry, neurochemistry and cell biology.



Page Last Update   :  1385-10-16 12:12        Top of page Print version